Researching Concept Art

I’m probably a little late to the game, but I’ve been looking into the concept art industry recently. Only that it just occurred to me how important I should apply what I learn in school to get what I need in my profession. It’s been sort of hard to find the right place, but I’m looking into Blizzard. And trying to improve my portfolio as much as I can so that I could be hired by a game company. I want to do Fantasy concept art, or sci-fi. I think it matches my personality more. I do realize there is a growing market for facebook games and such, but it does not interest me….

Does anybody know that Robert Frost poem? Goes like this:

The Road Not Taken
TWO roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth; 5
Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that, the passing there
Had worn them really about the same, 10
And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I marked the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way
I doubted if I should ever come back. 15
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

This poem talks about a man hitting a fork at a road. He’s standing there for some time trying to figure out which he should go to. There is a read that seems to be more downtrodden and seems to be worn out like a lot of people have walked on. And he knows that although it’d be nice to take both, there is only one he can choose because he won’t be looking back. In the end, he decides on the one less taken because although riskier, it can bring more insight. Anyway, my interpretation, and also a poem I learned in high school.

Tonight, I met a professional, working concept artist, Jason Felix. Truly enlightening. I’ve only found that attending these speaker events I begin to know what to do and where I’m going more clearly than if I am alone. They speak of wisdom and experience, and just know, understand what it’s like to be starting out. This was what I was missing when I was away and doing my online stuff. I notice, my disciplines seem much better than some, because of the modules and teaching method maybe I learned online is different? But its truly the experience of being in a competitive environment that brings you through. My family and friends need not worry about me too much as I’m slowly discovering myself here — alone, and yet not alone.

I also bought his art book, even though I had been contemplating on getting on of the Spectrum books. hahaha… But there were just so many, like 17 all ready. How do I know which I will benefit me more? Or if I’ll like them, or liking one more than the other. Too hard to know. But Jason’s stuff is pretty sick, I mean the good definition and the bad. All of the art in the book is like total mind-fuck, but he has some strange stuff…. I am so appalled by it that I had to have it in my collection of art books.

I was eating a rice ball, and my fingers are dirty and oily… eeee…. Smudgy fingers all over the cover now…. :\

Anybody notice the name Jason? I think I need to change my name to Jason if I want to work for Massive Black. Jason Chan, Jason Manley…. Jason Felix…. Yeah?

In other news, I am working on a new character painting, Thrall ~ from Warcraft. Well, I was going to do nightelf, but I felt it wasn’t the right choice and that I didn’t know who I should do that would be familiar and I asked my Brother his opinion and he said Thrall was a popular character, and some other guys. Well, Thrall it was, because he has some nice set of braids. And even though he is an orc, he is pretty cool-looking.

This is for both my midterm, and to help my development for Blizzard’s internship. I wish I knew what they looked for in an intern, but I’m just groping in the dark right now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Art Projects, illustration, sketches

Leave a Reply

