A disaster kit

So living on my own, it’s really nice. I don’t have family breathing down my neck all the time. I like living by myself, but that also means having to take care of myself and knowing how to deal with natural disasters too. So my sister emailed me a list of things I should have at hand in case there is a disaster and that I don’t die from starvation or something while trapped in my house…. Unfortunately, this dictated most of my weekend. And I couldn’t do things that I wanted. I wanted to go to the beach near Golden Gate Park and go to the museum, but I don’t think I will get to any time soon. Perhaps when summer rolls around again… Of course, I’ll be staying in Orange County probably for the most of that.

I went to the Container Store. BTW, it’s important to always double check your receipt. It was unfortunate for me because I was charged twice for large plastic container. I got home pretty late looked at the receipt and had to bring everything back again. And the bus ride takes freaking forever. When I got back, the guy who refunded my money was like, “Well, it’s not like you waited 10 days to return it.” I coulda proved everything too if it was the same cashier dude, but it was about 4pm when I went back there, and left at 2pm…. He could have gone home all ready. In any case, this cashier’s attitude was pretty negative, but it’s downtown SF where certain stores demand you check your bags in at the front. Still kind of depressing, but then again, when you’ve got adult adhd, a lot of things can get oversensitive.

That thermometer is suppose to be environmentally safe! Well, it doesn’t have mercury inside.

This be my bin of canned food and water, among other supplies. Actually, I only put in 12 bottles of water, and the other water bottles are elsewhere…. Since water is pretty heavy… I don’t have a car either, it’s not as if I could lug this around. It’s probably more practical for me to be able to have a dufflebag instead. Fudge… Oh well. :\

 

My sister compiled a list for me and my family, but I really can’t have too many things because of space….

In a big plastic bin we have:
Non-perishable foods: Dry foods, Canned foods (Easy open tops are best. And check expirations dates and replace when needed)
Can opener
Water –one gallon of water per person per day for at least three days
Water Filter and Iodine/potable water tablets
Camping stove and fuel
Plastic utensils, plates
Hand-crank radio (or battery-powered)
Batteries (Store in double zip-lock bag to prevent it from getting wet.)
Hand Crank Flashlight
Matches (Store in double zip-lock bag to prevent it from getting wet.)
Candles
Whistle
Thick gloves (like the gardening ones)
Duct Tape
Tent or Plastic bags (Big black ones and small ones. Can be used to create possible shelter)
Complete change of clothes: long sleeves, pants, socks, gloves, beanie, sturdy/tennis shoes
Rain poncho
Blanket / Sleeping bag
Tools: Leatherman, Hammer, Wrench (for shutting off poer & water lines if necessary), Crowbar, Shovel
First Aid Kit:
  • Latex gloves
  • Gauze
  • Cleansing agent/soap and antibiotic towelettes
  • Antibiotic ointment (Neosprin)
  • Burn ointment
  • Adhesive bandages in a variety of sizes.
  • Eye wash solution to flush the eyes or as general decontaminant.
  • Thermometer
  • Scissors
  • Tweezers
  • Tube of petroleum jelly or other lubricant
  • Aspirin or nonaspirin pain reliever
  • Anti-diarrhea medication
  • Antacid (for upset stomach)

 

 

Sigh… goodbye spring break.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Talk

Leave a Reply

