26 March 2013 – notes/updates

Will be away from my Twitter and Facebook accounts for about 23 days or so.

And to keep myself in check, I’ve been using this app since finding a way to max out the maximum hours (to show how committed I am to not logging onto these sites on my computer!):

Screen shot 2013-03-27 at 12.10.10 AM

SelfControl Timer Countdown

Don’t you just love how the logo is a skeleton head with crossed bones? I’ve realized how apt this is. Because SelfControl cannot be overridden once the user accepts and enters the password. I’ve had to say, “No! Bad, Tannie!” complete with a hand-slapping gesture to keep myself from automatically pressing my “f” key. I didn’t realize how automatic that was until I started this a week ago, I just kept doing it on ‘auto’ as soon as I open up my laptop. I hope doing this will fix that habit. I’m what you would call a “phantom” on facebook. Or a lurker, cuz, most of the time, I’m not really posting too many things about myself despite controlling all my settings and lists. I tend to go to my newsfeed a lot and “like” other people’s stuff or end up reading some random article or supporting a cause (i.e. the Rhythm and Hue’s Oscar fiasco! Bad, Hollywood! Stop that. Just stop, okay? Play fair. Gosh.)

It helps that I watched a Ted Talk video by Susan Cain: The Power of Introverts! Because it made so much sense why I like my solitude so much. It’s true, when I’m working, I prefer to get lost in my own head, and I have to take a lot of nature walks. It’s good to collaborate too, but there are certain stages where alone-time is very important. I wouldn’t feel bad about being introverted! If it’s who you are. Just find the balance between introversion and extroversion. Some people are good at switching between the two. It’s a skill for either of the two types of people actually. Extroverts don’t know how to do certain mind exercises or to go into their mind, and introverts have to always practice being social. But the whole point is, no more time wasting on Social Media addictions!

But I will still be updating this blog when I finish my post on Diego Velasquez. That’s going to be sometime in the next week.

WonderCon 2013 is just around the corner this weekend. If you see a Gaz from Invader Zim or possibly Death from Sandman on either Saturday or Sunday, that’d be me. Here’s hoping its not gonna rain like last year, ‘cuz WTF SoCal? You’re supposed to be sunny most of the time. I miss my ATMG buddies… :< Good times during WonderCon 2012. They’re off making big names for themselves now at EA or making their own studios. Maybe I will see that girl I met from last year again, she never called. I’m just kidding, I don’t even remember her name. I thought I made a new friend, but maybe its a good thing because she practically talked my ear off. Still, that was what made her charming. Who knows if they rehire the same booth babes.
In any case, a notable guest is Jim Lee: https://i1.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/a/a9/Batman_superman.PNG/300px-Batman_superman.PNG

Another is Jason Palmer! Beautiful artwork for various big name studios. 😀

https://i1.wp.com/dadsbigplan.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/jason-palmer-art.jpg

Look/Google them up! I particularly, am loving the Star Wars piece he did of Queen Amidala/Padme on Jason Palmer’s Gallery/Website.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Artists, Random Talk

Leave a Reply

