Makie Otono-Tachibana

Blade of the Immortal – Makie Otono Tachibana has got to be one of the most depressing, female characters there are. She’s very strong and resilient but suffers a lot from self-defeat. In terms of her swordsmanship, Anotsu Kagehisa has admitted that she could probably best him, which makes me believe, aside from Manji, she’s the strongest character in this story. But she will never be completely strong, since she has a tendency to hesitate in battle before she delivers a killing blow. In a lot of ways, I feel I understand her position very well because she’s got that bit of humanity left in her. But I almost feel like she is perpetually frowning….

I started off the  painting not knowing who I was painting. I wanted to do something with eyes, and so I was scouring my memory for a good female to paint, when it crossed me I hadn’t done much BotI artwork at all! I am a huge fan, and I stopped reading since the translations had stopped in 2010. I was also really busy with school, so I never had time to really catch up until now. And I am trying to get into it again. I’m finding my memory needs a good refresher. But its all around one of my most favorite comics, although, I have tons of recommendable stories for different reasons. I was equally into Shounen and Shoujo, Seinen and Josei types of manga. I would consider BotI to be Seinen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Painting

Leave a Reply

